Green Tie Awards are today May 24th. Tickets are closed. Thank you!

2021 Green Tie Awards

Unfortunately, the pandemic forced us to go virtual for a second straight edition of our Green Tie Awards on October 27. But thanks to you, we raised over $74,000, by far the most we have ever raised for this annual event!

After reading about the event and watching video highlights below (plus the entire show on our YouTube channel), please scroll to the bottom to check out our generous sponsors who helped make this and our ongoing work possible.

Pricey Harrison
Rep. Harrison has won multiple awards for her long career of environmental advocacy, including Green Tie Awards. But this year, she earned one of our two Defender of the Environment Awards for wearing a different hat. We are the North Carolina League of Conservation Voters. We believe that guaranteeing everyone’s freedom to vote is paramount to our work. Without a healthy democracy, we can’t have a healthy environment. Rep. Harrison filed several pro-democracy bills this session, and is on the front lines of protecting both our democracy and our environment.
Natalie Murdock
Sen. Murdock was appointed to the Senate in 2020, and has hit the ground running. She has been both a behind-the-scenes and out-in-front fighter for our democracy. She and Rep. Harrison organized a delegation to D.C. to promote the For the People Act and John Lewis Voting Rights Act. Sen. Murdock does not hesitate when asked to fight anti-democracy or anti-environment legislation, and we look forward to watching what is next for this rising Senate leader.
Molly Diggins
Molly was the first and only director the North Carolina chapter of the Sierra Club had for 22 years. For this long career of advocacy, the Charlotte Observer proclaimed her a Guardian of the Environment, and Gov. Cooper awarded her our state’s highest honor, the Order of the Long Leaf Pine. The least we could do was give her one of our two Jane Sharp Lifetime Achievement Awards.
Jane Preyer
Molly’s counterpart at the Environmental Defense Fund for 20 years, Jane was a gentle giant in the North Carolina environmental community and now joins Molly as recipient of our 2021 Jane Sharp Lifetime Achievement Award.
Basir Razzak
Until recently, Basir was our colleague, serving his Winston-Salem community through our foundation’s PowerUp NC program. An organizer at heart, he has now taken his public service to a new level. In 2020, he started Uncle B’s Organic Farm and Gardens, which provides organic food to low-wealth communities globally, creating good-paying, environmentally friendly jobs while educating people on the importance of organic gardening.
Dionne Delli-Gatti and William Barber III
Earlier this year, Gov. Cooper appointed Ms. Delli-Gatti our state Clean Energy Director. Mr. Barber is the Strategic Partnership Manager of the Climate Reality Project’s Climate Justice Initiative. We invited them to discuss our state’s clean energy future and how we can make sure it works justly and equitably for communities of color and low-income North Carolinians.

Thank You to Our 2021 Sponsors!

Sustainable Green Tie

Jim S. Overton and Mary Babcock Mountcastle • Brad Stanback

Gold Tie

Anonymous • Carrie Clark • Linda Edmisten

nrdc logo

White Tie

John Curry • Jeff and Lari Hatley • Sam and Anne Hummel* • Todd Jones • The Hon. Patsy Keever • Jane Preyer • The Hon. Elizabeth and Jamie Redenbaugh • The Mona Lisa and Lee Wallace Foundation

southern energy management logo

Black Tie

The Hon. Lucy T. Allen • Rep. Cynthia Ball and Dave Aspnes • Joel Bradshaw • Dan Bruer and Becky Graebe • Bob and Maria Kingery • Bryna and Greg Rapp • Chris Sabiston • Katherine Seligmann • Randy and Vicki Sturgill • Nina Szlosberg-Landis • The Hon. Terry Van Duyn • John and Ashley Wilson*

John Brown

Silk Tie

The Hon. Lucy Allen • Robert Cutting and Sally J. MacKain, PhD • Angella Dunston Consulting Firm • Ballard Everett • Ellis Hankins • Richard and Lonna Harkrader • The Hon. Pricey Harrison • The Hon. Sig and Nancy Hutchinson • Deborah Dicks Maxwell • Joel Porter and Elizabeth Coviello-Porter • Mary Beth Powell and Bill Rote • The Hon. Joe Sam Queen • Peter Raabe • Steve Smith • Adam and Jane Stein • Marion Sullivan • Aldridge Wilder • Nancy Young


* Contributed to NCLCV Foundation

environmental justice

Join the Fight

Help us fight for fair maps, free elections, clean air, clean water, and clean energy for every North Carolinian!

legislative battlegrounds on climate

Stay Informed

Keep up to date on the latest environmental and political news. Become an email insider.